reading-and-dog

A Reading Life: {Guest Post} How Reading Changed My Life in 2016

How Reading Changed My Life in 2016

by Jennifer LeBlanc

As a little girl, with a Dick & Jane reader, I learned to read. I remember the exact moment that the letters turned into words: all at once the story had wings.

I read all throughout my childhood and teenage years, and majored in English in college. Almost 20 years since my university days, I fondly remember the hours spent in my college library, browsing small hardcover copies of great works of literature. That was the year I read Jane Eyre, Dickens’ Hard Times, Jane Austen, and Wuthering Heights. That was the year I met my husband, who is (happily) also a reader.

We married a few years later and had two daughters. Some of my happiest motherhood moments have been spent reading aloud together – Charlotte’s Web, From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Winnie the Pooh, Beatrix Potter, Because of Winn-Dixie, and The Boxcar Children.

But at some point in the last few years, in the constancy of raising my girls, I stopped prioritizing my own reading. Life as a young family was busy, and I let social media, movies, and other hobbies fill in the cracks of time I could call my own.

As 2015 wrapped up, I set a Goodreads Reading Challenge to read 12 books in 2016. I figured I would strive to average a book a month for the year. My real goal was not the number, but to make reading a regular part of my life again. I really had no idea how much my goal would change my life. Here’s how reading changed my life in 2016:

I Fell in Love with History

Nonfiction books like Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand and fiction titles like Number the Stars and The Book Thief gave me an entry point into historic events. Stories brought color to things that were only black and white in school textbooks. Now with an increasing number of books under my literary belt, I am beginning to stitch events together in my mind and see history as a seamless road stretching backwards, not as separate, unrelated events. I can see cause and effect; how what transpired in one decade influenced and shaped what happened in the next. Reading about Louie Zamperini’s time in Japanese Prisoner of War camps helped me better understand what my mom’s step-dad went through as a POW in Japan during World War II. Reading books set during historical times, turned a light on in my mind, giving me a thirst for learning and knowledge.

I Learned to Do Things That Intimidated Me

For whatever reason, I have been intimidated by big books, and tended to read titles less than 350 pages. I have also been scared to read about certain topics. In 2016, I learned that everything you accomplish that you are afraid of gives you strength and confidence for the future. I read books over 500 pages, and am tackling one over 800 pages this year. Learning to stick with something, to persevere, and to overcome self-imposed barriers has had positive effects in other areas of my life. Sometimes our limits are real; sometimes we create them ourselves.

I Strengthened the Relationship with My Daughter

My oldest daughter, a seventh-grader, and I formed a sort of Mother-Daughter Book Club when I decided to read a book she was assigned to read for Language Arts class. I read it, she read it, and we discussed it. Since then we’ve had a shared bond and common language others don’t have. It’s given us inside jokes and camaraderie we wouldn’t have had otherwise. It’s given us language for other people’s struggles and other times and places.

I Gained a World All My Own

Reading so much last year gave me a world all my own. No matter what was happening in my day, I knew that reading was waiting for me. I love the feeling of being in my own life and someone else’s at the same time, of knowing that there is always the comfort and inspiration of words to benchmark my days. As an introvert, I love how reading is solitary, and yet shared with others all around the world. I love how reading gives you a way to travel without leaving your home or town. It’s home and abroad, it’s comfort and challenge, it’s heart-warming and devastating, it’s soothing and exhilarating. It’s anything you want it to be.

Reading made me stronger in 2016. It made me knowledgeable and more confident. It took me to far-away places. It gave me empathy and insight and courage. I never want to forget the power of a literary life.

curlicue1

jleblanc

Jennifer LeBlanc is a mother, writer, and artist living on the west coast with her teacher husband and two daughters. She is fascinated by people’s stories and reads partially to answer the question, “What is life like for others?” In 2016 she read 82 books. You can find her on Instagram at @liveart_fully, or on Facebook at Live Art.fully. She is working on her first book.

One thought on “A Reading Life: {Guest Post} How Reading Changed My Life in 2016

  1. Laila@BigReadingLife

    Beautifully written! I found so much that I agree with in this post. I especially love this sentence: “Sometimes our limits are real; sometimes we create them ourselves.” SO TRUE. Reading new genres or different types of books gives one a feeling that one can really do anything we decide to do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

