A Reading Life: {Guest Post} Why I Read

Why I Read

by Kaytee Cobb

cobb-maternity-19Hello, my name is Kaytee. I’m a relatively new-ish book blogger over at notesonbookmarks.wordpress.com. I love to read; and when I’m done, I love getting to interview authors for my site. But that’s just a little part of who I am. My husband, Jason, and I are about to celebrate 11 years of marriage. We met at the University of Arizona, so we are avid Wildcats fans. I finished a Masters in Spanish while he went to Medical school and then we moved to Oregon for three years, where we had a hard time with the dreary skies. In 2012 we moved to Albuquerque, NM, to be closer to family (but not so close that we get free babysitting!), and enjoy the sunshine again! I’m also a homeschool mama of three sweet, little boys, director of our local homeschool co-op, and considering becoming a lactation consultant (or maybe an author!) as a “later” career path… but my plate is too full right now. Reading is where my heart is, so I’m looking forward to being here as a guest today to tell you about WHY I READ!

curlicue1

I’ve been an avid reader ever since I was a little girl. I loved destroying my classmates in monthly reading challenges in school (competitive, much?). Like many of us, I fell off the reading bandwagon a bit while I was in college because I had so much other required reading to do, and much of mine was in my second language. The limited number of hours in a week meant that free-time for reading was almost non-existent. After I finished my degree, I took a slow dive back into the bookish world, typically reading somewhere between 30 and 50 books a year, even after having our first baby or two.

That number has exploded over the past year, though, even as we added baby #3. I’ve found ways to squeeze reading into every free moment of my life, whether I’m driving, cooking, cleaning, or homeschooling, there’s a book in my hand or in my ears. I just cannot get enough. I’ll read anything I can get my hands on, but especially love good literary fiction, and I can devour a psychological thriller in just a few hours. I could write another entire post about how I read so much with three littles at home, but this post is about the reasons.

When I open a book for the first time, I am so excited to discover a new world (or re-enter a favorite one, if this is the next in an already-loved series). I cannot wait to meet new characters, explore new landscapes, or feel new feelings. I am thrilled to fall in love for the first time (again!), run away from a killer, or experience the prejudices of racism. Maybe this time I’ll grow up in the south, see the world through the fingers of a blind man, or live in India. I might be part of these characters’ lives for a week or a year or three generations. Every single new book that I open reveals another facet of the world I love to explore.

As I jump from book to book, I am transported from space stations to springtime in Manhattan, from the battlefields of WWII to a future I could never imagine. Great fiction takes me there, for far less than the cost of a plane ticket, or time machine.

Non-fiction involves the same transportation, but always somewhere of this world. Perhaps I know myself better; perhaps I walk a hard road alongside the author; or perhaps I recognize the seedy underbelly of a society that I have never seen before. When non-fiction authors open my eyes, they force me, or maybe just help me to look further inward and outward than I have in the past. These authors open up new worlds that exist right here around me, instead of only in the pages of their books.

Last year, I read 123 books (remember I said my reading exploded?). That means I had 123 new worlds opened up to my eyes via fiction and non-fiction. This year, I look forward to reading even more. I know that with every word I devour I become more than I was. I know more, yes, but I am more, too.

curlicue1

Interested in being a guest blogger for A Reading Life? Submit your ideas here.

One thought on “A Reading Life: {Guest Post} Why I Read

Leave a Reply

